“LEAN” Attitudes or “My decision to not be fat!”

Posted: September 5, 2014 in Motivation

Team,

I thought I would toss out the first of three principles I came up with to help me start my own journey to “fat” freedom and my Road to Ironman 2015. Its call “Lean” Attitudes.

LEAN Attitudes are comprised of our own thoughts towards making changes.  In our unhealthy physical state we carry around “Fat Attitudes” or an unhealthy perspectives on ourselves.  Many times we don’t hold optimistic opinions of ourselves, or self-worth.  We are not honest or realistic with our state of health (and when I say “we”, I mean me!).  There is a lot of denial happening as to how we look and feel.  We cheat on our diets and say its not cheating because “I walked up a flight of stairs today.  I earned it.”  Justification for our poor health choices is what it really is.

LEAN Attitudes is the other side of that coin.  We take accountability for our health, our well being (both physically and mentally).  We begin to put ourselves in a place that we can make changes for the good.  Is it easy?  No it’s not.  Sorry, but that’s the truth.  The first step to any change we make is going to happen in our heads.  Deciding to do it!  Deciding we need change!  Deciding that hard work will be worth the increased quality of life we will gain! 

Lou Ferrigno says, “Change will happen outside of your comfort zone.”

I was stuck in my comfort zone.  I distinctly remember being in total denial that I had a fat issue.  Seriously.  I wore dark colors, stood behind people for pictures, had back aches all the time because I was sucking in my gut constantly.  By the way, a fat guy sucking his gut in only looks like a fat guy sucking his gut in and totally not worth the back aches.  All of these are examples of escaping the truth.  I was too lazy to change, or want to change.  But not because I didn’t want to be healthy, I just didn’t think I could achieve it.  I had a “FAT” Attitude.

The other thing is, people make fat out to be the enemy.  Fat just does what it does with no prompting.  For the most part we create it with poor lifestyle choices and allow it to grow and wreak havoc.  Now, let me clarify, I say the for the most part we create this problem.  Yes, there are reasons, legitimate reasons, people struggle with weight and I don’t mean to discount those folks.  They are not who I am talking to here.  You know who you are.  So offense was probably given to some but not intended.

Here is the beauty of it all.  A few small changes in our attitudes and we can begin creating a whole new self.  We have complete control.  Look for reasons to say yes to change, and find inspiration in others doing the same.  Decide to make those changes then do it. 

I know you can…I did!  Be Awesome!

Jeffrey “Previously Fat Guy” 

Leave a Reply

