Diary of a Madman: product review…Tifosi Optics Sunglasses

Posted: September 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

Alrighty!  I promised some product reviews way back when and here we go.  Tifosi Optics Sunglasses!  I shared my story with them and some of my goals for 2015 and Tifosi (with some help from Graham at Swift Athletics) sent me two pair of sunglasses to try out.  I have worn both now, the Podium XC casually and the Lore for running.  Both fit great.

The neat thing about Tifosi (http://www.tifosioptics.com/) is that the lenses are interchangeable.  Each pair came with two additional sets of lenses (clear and red/amber). This makes it really nice when running or riding in low light situations and the dark (smoke) lenses are too dark.  I found the initial lens change to be a little precarious as I didn’t want to break anything but once I had completed the swap it was apparent the product is made very well and sturdy.  I would imagine it to be very difficult to damage or break these without some effort or mishandling.

The first pair, the Podium XC, is a lighter pair.  They sent me the matte black frame.  It has one large lenses on it so the change is simple and fast.  It came with a hard case and a soft carrying bag that doubles as a lens cleaner.  I really like these because black goes with just about anything and they have a very unassuming look and profile.  Wearing them everyday casually, as well as riding wont be an issue.

The second pair, the Lore, has a heavier look to them.  Again, they came with two additional sets of lenses.  This pair requires you change each side, so in effect, two lens changes are required each time you want a new look.  These are really cool looking and worked awesome on my run this morning.  They felt good and stayed in place.  An additional feature is they have little vents in the corners of the lenses that keep them from fogging up.  I can’t tell you how many times I have had to slide my glasses down my nose some to get a breeze to clear the fog.  With the metallic red finish these are pretty cool.  I dig them.  This pair also came with a case and lens cleaning bag.

They have a price point of about $70 and I think they are well worth it.  They are well built, and with the additional lenses and case, the price is reasonable.  I have looked for a decent pair of running/riding glasses for a year and I believe I have found them.

Be awesome today!

Jeffrey “Previously Fat Guy”

Leave a Reply

